2018 Merit Awards and Legacy Award Nominees Announced

By: Hurston/Wright Foundation,  www.hurstonwright.org
August 20, 2018

The Zora Neale Hurston/Richard Wright Foundation will present merit awards to two pioneers in their fields at the 2018 Legacy Awards Ceremony on Friday, October 19 at the historic Washington Plaza Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Receiving the North Star Award—the foundation’s highest honor for career accomplishment and inspiration to the writing community—is Ntozake Shange, poet and playwright who created the iconic For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide/When the Rainbow Is Enuf.  Charles Henry Rowell, founder and editor of Callaloo Literary Journal, will receive the Madam C.J. Walker Award for his dedication to supporting and sustaining Black literature...

Cuz: The Life and Times of Michael A., Danielle Allen (Liveright)
Loving: Interracial Intimacy in America and the Threat to White Supremacy, Sheryll Cashin (Beacon Press)
Guidebook to Relative Strangers: Journeys into Race, Motherhood, and History, Camille T. Dungy (W.W. Norton & Company)
The Dawn of Detroit: A Chronicle of Slavery and Freedom in the City of the Straits, Tiya Miles (The New Press)
Cutting School: Privatization, Segregation, and the End of Public Education, Noliwe Rooks (The New Press)
The Cooking Gene: A Journey through African American Culinary History in the Old South, Michael W. Twitty (Amistad)


See the entire list of nominees at www.hurstonwright.org


 Noliwe Rooks